Manney.time

June 14, 2010

Hello there and welcome to Manney.time. I hope to use this space to chronicle my many interests including food, travel and people through my writing and photography.

I moved to Nashville with Drew the day before the 1000 year flood, as it’s been called, from Minneapolis by way of Seattle and Kansas City. It’s been a solid year of motion. Of searching for a home and not settling until we found it, even if our journey made sense to no one but ourselves. And even that was sometimes pushing it.

It’s a curious thing searching for a home. It’s difficult to explain since most of the time it’s a feeling that can’t be put into words. I had my doubts along the way wondering if I’d ever find it, since in all honesty I wasn’t quite sure exactly what I was looking for. Not everyone searches like this, but some people do.

I wasn’t expecting to move to Nashville. I didn’t know a thing about it until we came to visit for a few days, one gray rainy weekend in March. And even after that I didn’t know much. All I knew was that I liked how I felt here and that it felt different than anywhere else I’d lived. There were no bells or whistles or obvious signs telling me this is where I should be (or my definition of what obvious meant), I just felt good and calm and this town felt right.

Drew and I call it Diet South, or South Lite. Sometimes, such as this past weekends’ CMA events that turned the downtown into a modern countryfied spectacle with twangy tunes blaring out of speakers and short shorts and glittery cowboy hats, you can find yourself wondering if maybe you’ve stepped into some kind of alternate universe. It is truly a different culture, one that feels familiar yet in moments as foreign as being in another country.

But then you can go across the river with the musicians and hipsters and quirky coffee shops and restaurants featuring local ingredients (this is where we live) and feel like you’re in a different city.

But I love having both. I like the feeling that I’m a tourist not just in my city, but also in my own country. I know nothing of the South other than sweet tea (adult kool-aid), grits (why do these not exist in the north? they’re incredible) and collards (I believe bacon is the key to making them not taste like grass, but isn’t bacon always the key). I have a curious feeling that there might be more to the South than meets the eye and I’m determined to find out.

3 Responses to “Manney.time”

  1. Kimber Says:

    Since we’ve been staying in touch through all your recent adventures, I pretty much knew all of the above but I’m so happy you’re getting back into the swing of things and sharing, my dear… Looking forward to lots and lots more! Congrats!! Love you!

  2. andrea Says:

    this isn’t just another wordpress blog, it’s another manney blog! glad to see and hear that life is settling all around with you firmly rooted amongst it, glittery cowboy hats and all… can’t wait to see what you discover next… cheers m’dear! xox!


  3. That is really interesting, You’re a very professional blogger. I have joined your feed and stay up for searching for extra of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks


Leave a Reply

