No Skills Required

June 22, 2010

Here’s a recipe I’d like to share with you. It’s easy, like no cooking involved easy, and it tastes delicious. It’s especially nice to make (and eat) when it’s 95 degrees outside with a gazillion percent humidity, and you’d seriously have to be masochistic to turn on the stove.

I very much prefer simple recipes. Recipes that make it hard to forget an ingredient because there’s usually only about five of them. This is that type of recipe. Or even better, ones that give you ideas for substitutions in case you don’t have all the ingredients, which is pretty much the situation I find myself in everytime I start cooking. It’s the reason I’m not such a fan of baking. There’s no substitution for baking powder and if you try to come up with one, chances are you’ll decide to stick with cooking.

So your recipe of the week, my friends, is Rice Salad with Tuna & Chickpeas. Next time you make rice be sure to make a little extra, then this recipe will take all of five minutes, if that. I just used what I had in my fridge but feel free to add different herbs or a little of this and a little of that. The only thing I wouldn’t change is the lemon. It’s important for bringing all the flavors together. And, I love lemon.

Rice Salad with Tuna & Chickpeas
Serves 2

About 1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice, at room temperature

A can of tuna, preferably packed in olive oil

About a half a can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

A couple tablespoons of roughly chopped cilantro (or fresh basil or parsley or a combination of all three)

The juice of half a lemon, or more or less to taste

A drizzle or two of olive oil

Salt and freshly ground pepper

Perhaps a pinch of red pepper flakes, if you’re so inclined

Drain the tuna then throw everything into a bowl and mix it all together. Easy, no?

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

