Sweet Potato, Kale & White Bean Soup

September 23, 2010

So I made the most delicious soup last night and wanted to tell you about it.  Despite the fact that here in Nashville we welcomed the start of fall with 95 degree weather, my years spent in the upper midwest tell me that hot weather or not, it’s time to start eating as if winter is just around the corner.  I figure this is why God invented air conditioning, so that despite the beating sun, you can make the inside of your house feel like whatever season you want.

Last week we roasted a chicken, this week I made roasted butternut squash and sweet potato soup (which I’ll tell you about later), as well as this latest fall concoction that I’m about to share with you.  I’ve been in a bit of a cooking slump for a few weeks now but the start of a new season is always a nice time to get back on track with all the new vegetables at the farmers market.  And besides, we’re not that far off, the forecast for the weekend is highs in the mid-70s and rain.  My arms are ready for long sleeve shirts.

Anyway, about this soup.  There’s not much too it, it takes about a half hour from start to finish and most of that is just watching it cook.  But the end result my friends, is a most satisfyingly rich broth dotted with chunks of sweet potato that almost melt in your mouth, earthy bits of kale and creamy cannellini beans.  And it is quite possibly one of the prettiest soups I’ve ever made. We ate it with a slice of homemade bread and a salad of cucumbers and heirloom cherry tomatoes, a seasonal hybrid meal, celebrating the end of summer and the beginning of what’s to come.  I hope you enjoy it.

Sweet Potato, Kale & White Bean Soup

Serves 4

1 onion, finely diced

2 carrots, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 sweet potato, cut into cubes

1 bunch of kale with the ribs cut out, torn into bite-size pieces

1 can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed

1 quart of chicken or vegetable stock

1. Saute the onion, carrots and garlic in a bit of olive oil for about 5 minutes.  Add the broth, sweet potato and kale, bring to a boil then simmer gently for about 10 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are soft.  Add the cannellini beans and heat through.  Serve it up and enjoy!

One Response to “Sweet Potato, Kale & White Bean Soup”


  1. […] soup.  I googled the random ingredients I had and found two recipes — one complex, one a little simpler — that I merged to create tonight’s soup:  Kale Sweet Potato & White Bean […]


Leave a Reply

