Darkroom Memories & Food Photos

September 27, 2010

I am pretty much a self-taught photographer. The only things I remember from my photo classes in high school are the Rule of Thirds and Leading Lines, two rules I think about almost every time I take a picture. I don’t remember anything about different films or lenses or how to use a flash, but I do remember how much I loved winding the film onto the reel in the pitch darkness, my hands knowing exactly what to do as soon as I popped the cap off the film canister. I remember the ghetto darkroom I concocted in our basement laundry room with garbage bags taped over the windows, a piece of wood on top of the washing machine where I’d put my enlarger, a card table set up in the middle of the room with all my trays of chemicals. It was magical that darkroom. I hope to replicate it someday, garbage bags and all.

I was going to write more but I like those memories so I think I’ll just leave it at that. I did a bit of food photography the other day for a friend of a friend who’s starting a catering company. These are just a few of my favorites. As fun as it was, I think I like eating food better than photographing it. Especially this food; empanadas, carnitas tacos, the best gazpacho you’ve ever tasted. It was delicious.

Leave a Reply

