It’s Been A While….

November 4, 2010

Hello there. It seems like forever since I’ve sat down in front of the computer and typed something without an agenda. I started this blog a few weeks after we moved to Nashville, just over 6 months ago. I can hardly believe it’s already been 6 months. I feel like Jeremy Piven in Grosse Pointe Blank when he keeps repeating “10 YEARS!” in regards to his high school reunion. You John Cusack fans out there know what I’m talking about.

When I think about it, six months doesn’t really seem like a long time but so much has happened in these 180ish days and I already feel more at home here than anywhere else I’ve lived. Perhaps part of it has to do with moving to Nashville the day before the 1000 year flood. Usually when you move somewhere and don’t know anyone other than your spouse and are looking for a job and trying to meet people, it can at times feel like you’re beating your head against a wall. But when you move to a new city and suddenly the whole place floods two days later and you find yourself volunteering with strangers, silently sifting through people’s waterlogged belongings, throwing out nearly everything they’ve ever owned; beds, dressers, photo albums, books, all stacked in huge piles at the end of the driveway ready to be picked up and hauled away to the dump, life simply can’t go back to the way it was.

So here I am six months later and I can tell you that I officially love Nashville. I really do. I hope you’ll all come visit, there is so much to do and see and eat. And that doesn’t even scratch the surface of the beauty that surrounds this diet south city. On Saturday Drew and I are driving three hours east to the foothills of the Smokies to go see what the Benton’s Bacon craze is all about. I’m writing a story about them for Alfresco Pasta and apparently their bacon and country ham are some of the best in the world, Zingerman’s sells it so you know it’s gotta be good. Afterwards we’re going to take a drive through the Smokies and camp somewhere that my friend says is one of the most gorgeous places he’s ever camped. I am rather excited.

Well, basically I wanted to write this to tell you that I’m back. I’ve pretty much just been posting the articles I’ve been writing this summer but I miss the informality of writing in this space and now I’m ready again. Oh, and I also wanted to share some photos I took last week at Alfresco Pasta when they were making their famous Chicken Cannelloni. Every single thing they make is always the greatest thing I’ve ever tasted. And the chicken cannelloni is no exception.

the giant boiling noodle cauldron

steam & a strainer full of noodles

pile o' noodles

noodle assembly line

ready to be rolled

cannelloni production

3 Responses to “It’s Been A While….”

  1. Kimber Says:

    John Cusack and I have had a “thing” almost as long as you’ve been alive, Missy, so hands off:) ‘GPB’ is one of my all time faves! It’s waaay to cold up here today in MN for this FL lady, so your article has inspired me… Delicious, yummy pasta tonight!! Peace out, Sistah…

  2. grwhryrpltd Says:

    you mentioned november, john cusack and “10 years” all in one post… makes me jones for a turkey sandwich. how long has it been lady? it’s been a while, indeed. i’ll get to nashville one of these days… xox


Leave a Reply

