This Time Last Year

November 14, 2010

I’ve been going through a lot of old photos lately.  I am finally completely organized with all of my thousands of digital photos from the past few years, something I thought would be way harder to accomplish than it was in real life.  That usually seems to be the case.  What can I say, I’m a Manney.  Our VCR growing up flashed 12:00 for as long as I can remember.  We are not a techie people, although we are really good fake techies which is another skill in and of itself.  The master, hands-down, being Laura.

So basically, what I’m trying to say is that Drew is the reason why my digital organization has finally been taken to the next level.  I have embraced his inner nerd and am now reaping the benefits.  Marriage is nice like that.

This time last year we were living in Seattle.  This was the view from our apartment at the bottom of Capitol Hill, right at the corner of Olive Way and Melrose.  I remember waking up our very first morning and seeing window washers repelling down the sides of buildings right across the street.  I never got tired of this view.

Our kitchen was tiny but I loved it, especially this little stove, it has such character.  I have so many great food memories from Seattle and this stove was at the center of a lot of them.

While we lived there I also started getting into concert photography and my first assignment was Saul Williams.  I’m not really much of a fan of his stuff, he has a big ego and pretty much told us that we were the lamest crowd ever.  But, photographically speaking, it was great fun to shoot since his whole act is such a spectacle.

Assignment number two was The Maldives Christmas show.  It was a sold-out show on a rainy December night and there were about 50 hipsters with cameras jammed up to the edge of the stage, eyeing the length of each others lenses, firmly elbowing their way closer.  It was an interesting experience, sort of like being part of the paparazzi.

One afternoon we got out of town and drove to Deception Pass state park.  It was hauntingly beautiful with damp misty weather and hundreds of birds everywhere you looked.   We got ambushed by a hive of angry bees, watched a seal play in the water a few yards out from shore, it was an adventure, as always.

Later that evening we played chess by the campfire, which I am terrible at but love.

And these, I made for a Thanksgiving appetizer which I think I might do again this year.  Twice Marinated Mushrooms.  I am their number one fan.

3 Responses to “This Time Last Year”

  1. Kristina Says:

    Wish you were here, but so happy you found home in Nashville. Tim and I are starting our own Thanksgiving tradition this year creating a multi-course, mushroom-themed feast that doesn’t include turkey. We’ve been talking about it since May. In your honor, I’m going to take a stab at the twice marinated mushrooms. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  2. grwhryrpltd Says:

    it’s been a year already… i know it sounds cliche, but how can that be?! i bet going thru your photos gave you some insight as to how much you’ve accomplished in the time frame… way to go lady.


Leave a Reply

