The Space Needle

February 8, 2011

For a moment I thought that all of my photos from Seattle were lost in the digital underworld, that cavernous abyss of disorganized, forgotten gems.  The place that is the dark side of technology, where if you’re not organized from the get-go with a well structured system and fool proof back-up plan, well, good luck finding anything five years down the road. I am still sifting my way through that abyss. It seems that for me, with age, my digital organizational skills have become sharper.  Soon to be razor sharp, I hope.

So finding this picture pretty much made my day.  This will be the first to be blown up and hung on the living room wall. I just love it.

4 Responses to “The Space Needle”

  1. Susan Says:

    How cool!

  2. mary scheu Says:

    Made my day today too!
    Beautiful
    Thanks for sharing!
    M

  3. andrea Says:

    ooh! good find! what IS your organizational protocol and naming convention? i’ve always wondered how photographers cataloged their work. do tell, do tell. and where do you get your prints enlarged and printed? at a local photo shop or online?


    • oh my dear foxy….whitehouse custom colour will become your new best friend, as far as printing goes. http://www.whcc.com. it’s free shipping, comes quick as can be, they do an amazing job and have great customer service. i highly recommend them with a capital H! let me know if you have any questions.
      as far as organizing, i now have my stuff set up under larger folders like, for instance, “Space Lift” then under there I have “Eric Jans Kitchen” (the kitchen we’re working on now) and then under there “Favorites” (i go through all the photos and choose my favs and put then in there) and then under there “Real Favorites” (which are the ones I pull from my favs and process) and sometimes under that i’ll have “B&W Real Favorites” (for when i process in black and white).
      And then I just try to be super anal and specific about always having a folder for every set of pics i load in, instead of forgetting to do that and then wonder where “all those photos i took that one time” went. I also back up my whole library and then each year save it as “Lightroom 2011” or something like that.
      it has taken me a long time to reach this point and i owe a lot of it to Lightroom which is the greatest program evs. It makes organization much easier. xo


Leave a Reply

