Twice Marinated Mushrooms

May 19, 2011

Just the other day I was thinking about how much I like these twice marinated mushrooms, so I thought I’d give you the recipe. I never liked mushrooms as a kid; along with tomatoes, celery, spinach, bell peppers, eggplant & peas. I also thought mustard was the worst food invention ever and onions were the devil. Now that my taste buds are a bit more sophisticated and I’ve learned how to actually cook vegetables, a helpful piece of knowledge, that list has been narrowed down to green peppers specifically and celery. I’ve tried to like celery, I really have. And if it’s diced up, sauteed and obliterated in a simmering soup, well, then I’m all for it. But for the life of me, I cannot convince myself of its stringy, mealy, watery pleasure. So I’ve given up in hopes that one day I’ll be pleasantly surprised, like I was with beets. As for green peppers, the red, yellow, orange and purple ones just taste so much better so my feeling on the matter is, why bother with green.

I will say that mushrooms took me the longest to learn to love. But one night, six or seven years ago, my friend Fran cooked a dinner of mushrooms that had been simmering for nearly an hour in a broth of tomatoes, ginger, onion, garlic and cumin, until they’d absorbed all the flavors and became all soft and meaty and chewy. With one bite I was hooked and now, me and mushrooms are culinary soul mates. Perhaps the same thing will happen one day with celery, I have not closed the door on it completely, just mostly.

So if you like mushrooms, you should make this recipe. And even if you don’t, maybe this will be the recipe that changes everything for you. Maybe. I make no promises. The original recipe tells you to slice the mushrooms in half, as in the photo below, but now I slice ’em up even more because they’re much easier to use that way. They’ll stay good in your fridge for up to a month but I never seem to keep them around for more than a few days. And my top recommended uses: inside of an omelette or a top a crostini. But really, they’d be good with pretty much anything savory that you want to be delicious.

Twice Marinated Mushrooms

Make these at least a day or two ahead of time because they marinate overnight in the fridge and then again when they’re finished.

1 1/2 cup dry white wine

1/2 cup white wine vinegar

3 cloves of garlic, crushed

2 1×4 inch strips of lemon zest

2 tsp kosher salt

1/2 tsp juniper berries (about 14), lightly crushed

1/2 tsp fennel seeds, lightly chopped

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp coarsely ground black pepper

3/4 cup olive oil

1 lb mushrooms (a variety is fine), sliced up

1. Mix the wine, vinegar, garlic, lemon zest, rosemary, salt, juniper berries, fennel seed, red pepper flakes & black pepper to make a marinade.

2. Heat 3 Tbsp olive oil in a pan. Add mushrooms and cook until golden brown, about 3 minutes. Spread on a plate to cool.

3. Add the marinade to the skillet. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for five minutes to infuse flavors. Put mushrooms and marinade in a heat proof container. Let cool to room temperature, cover, refrigerate overnight.

4. Drain the mushrooms, reserving the garlic and discarding the marinade and most of the aromatics. Pack the mushrooms and garlic into a pint jar with a lid. Add enough of the remaining oil to cover and refrigerate at least overnight or up to a month. Enjoy!

One Response to “Twice Marinated Mushrooms”


  1. I love Mushrooms and I havent seen any that look this good in a really long time!
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

