On Birthdays, Butchers & Squash Blossoms

August 10, 2011

I didn’t actually mean to take a month long vacation from this blog, it just sort of happened like that. Maybe because it’s been so damn hot these past few weeks that I just haven’t felt like doing any extra-curricular activities, which in my nerdy world, means writing on this here blog. It’s been a good month though and now we’re in the home stretch of this southern heat wave. And I discovered that if I close my eyes super tight and think really hard about it, I can feel the air cooling off and see the leaves changing color. It’s going to happen. Soon. I just know it.

So here’s what I’ve been up to this past month.

I had a birthday. And it was great. We had a few friends over, played croquette on a really old croquette set from the 30s; I made cabbage, spinach and peanut slaw and tomato rice salad; I pickled squash and radishes and we ate those on top of Korean Tacos with homemade Korean BBQ sauce; Dani made Dulce de Leche cupcakes that were divine. Like I said, it was a pretty great birthday. I’d even go so far as to say it was the best one yet.

For my birthday, Drew bought me an old Pentax K1000, the first camera I ever owned and the only regret I’ve ever had when I sold it years ago when I thought I’d never take another photo again. Silly me.

So now I’m shooting film again and it’s changed everything for me. I love it.

One afternoon Dani and Adam made a table for their backyard out of an old door and staircase spindles.

Drew and I had a summer date night at home where we made Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Tellegio Cheese and Toasted Almonds. Oh man was it delicious.

About two weeks ago I took photos for Porter Road Butcher of the guys breaking down a whole pig. I feared that it would be super gross, like an autopsy or something, but it turns out it was highly informative to see where each piece of meat comes from and I really liked all the lines that come from using saws and cleavers and crazy sharp knives.

So that’s about it. I’ll be seeing you soon.

One Response to “On Birthdays, Butchers & Squash Blossoms”

  1. grwhryrpltd Says:

    we missed you, but i know how it goes… a little vacay from the blog can work wonders sometimes. love the shots from your new k1000. looking forward to seeing more! xox


Leave a Reply

