Summertime Velvia

April 1, 2012

I’ve just started using a new photo program. Aperture.  And at the same time I upgraded from a million year old 12 inch iBook with a 40 gig hard drive to an iMac with a 20 inch screen and 250 gigs. A vast improvement to say the least. Now I sit in a chair and look out the window while I work. I like it better. It suits me.

So I’m slowly bringing photos into my new program. I get to start completely over, a feeling I relish. Some photos make the cut, the rest stay on my external hard drive, Tobias, out of sight, out of mind, for a rainy day. My photo website will also be ready to unveil in the very near future. So near I can almost taste it.

I took these photos last summer, a roll of Fuji Velvia that I got crossed-processed. I can feel how hot it was when I look at them, the damp humidity, the way the heat makes everything feel like slow motion. It’s not all that bad really, being forced to slow down just a bit. And then when you simply can’t take it anymore, September rolls around, the humidity loses its intensity and 85 degrees suddenly feels glorious again. Here’s to the south. Where summer starts in April.

2 Responses to “Summertime Velvia”

  1. grwhryrpltd Says:

    lucky you! hope you’re enjoying a beautiful weekend before it gets too hot this spring/summer… a/c season is upon us. perfect for organizing/editing photos 😉

  2. Kimber Says:

    Coolio, “Doolio”!!


Leave a Reply

