A Week in Photos: May 20th

May 28, 2013

It’s been a really nice, long, lingering spring so far. The kind where most days are in the 60 or 70s, at least a thunderstorm or two each week with just enough oomph to make up for a few days of forgetting to water my garden, but not quite enough to make you fear for your life as they did in Nashville. And now I hold my breath as I wait to see what summer’s like. Some people say it’s hot, muggy, sticky, others say it’s perfectly nice and that those people don’t know what they’re talking about. Whichever way it goes, I will soon find out. But I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t hoping for 82 degrees, blue skies with a few wispy clouds, a soft breeze rustling through the trees, cool evenings in the low 70s with no humidity, but I wouldn’t want to be too particular or anything. I figure as long as I’m not building furniture in an un-airconditioned garage in 110 degree heat like last summer, I can handle whatever comes my way.

*

The Wedge. We met friends here last week for the best pizza in town, Tin Can Pizzeria. It was oh so good. Those ladies are doing it up right.

*

On Thursday I tagged along with my friend Emi to take photos for a story she was writing on a restaurant. These here are scallops with carrot and turnip puree and some sauteed ramps. It was the most delicious free meal ever.

*

The road Emi lives on. It’s amazing the mountain living that’s available a mere 20 minutes from town.

*

We spent Saturday here.

*

Sitting on this dock all day long. BBQ sandwiches, beer, magazines, swimming. It was the best day.

Leave a Reply

