The Year in Photos: 2013

December 31, 2013

*

I took this photo back in January, on film, a few weeks after the new year, right around the time I fell in love with Kodak Ektar. I took a lot of photos like this over the next few months, the behind-the-scenes action of a cooking school that opened up in early 2013.

*

The next five months were a bit of a roller coaster. I have a notebook where I write down our Awesome Dinners/Lunches/Breakfasts and there are seven entries for January, mostly meals from when my friend Kim was here to visit when we made pasta with pine nuts, greek yogurt, feta and peas from the Jerusalem cookbook and turkey meatballs with smashed chickpeas from The Smitten Kitchen. There was the meal we cooked the night before she left, steak with goat cheese and chimichurri and a side of kale with garlic and toasted sesame seeds. The next entry after that is for June 1st, a few days after I quit my job at the cooking school.

Quitting my job was the nicest thing I’ve ever done for myself and I bought these strawberries the very next day at the farmers market. I remember thinking I’d never tasted anything so delicious in my life and it made me feel like I was on the right track.

*

In June I was out in New York for a couple days when my grandfather passed away. While my sister was at work I made us a picnic for later that evening consisting of a giant sandwich filled with tuna, roasted peppers, fresh basil, tomatoes and lots of other delicious stuff I can’t remember, and potato salad with green beans, walnuts and a dijon/olive oil/green onion dressing. I loaded up my backpack with the goods and walked along the East River to the financial district where we met for beers then took the train to somewhere in Brooklyn where we ate our picnic on her friend’s rooftop. This was the view. It was a great night.

*

The next day I walked to Port Authority where I took the train to Rutherford, NJ to spend the night with my Aunt Jean, the greatest aunt a girl could ever have. On the way, somewhere in the East Village, I passed by all these succulents peering up at me from the sidewalk.

*

We’ve taken a lot of drives along the Blue Ridge Parkway this year. There’s nothing that grounds me like nature.

*

One of the first photos I took at All Souls Pizza. Eggplant patiently waiting to be roasted.

*

On August 19th we celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary. Time sure flies when you’re having fun. 

*

In September we drove a couple hours to South Carolina where we camped near this Wild and Scenic River. We were the only people around for miles.

*

And in October we met up with our friends to camp in West Virginia for a weekend. It was there that they showed us how to make sausages wrapped in pillsbury crescent dough. It’s quite possibly the most unhealthy thing you could ever eat, but man, they sure hit the spot after a long afternoon hike. One of the things I love about camping cooking is that there are always those recipes you’d never make at home, but when you’re outside for a couple days, the rules no longer apply.

*

One of my favorite photos from the morning I went out to the mill at Farm & Sparrow Bakery.

*

My second favorite picture from that same day.

*

And to round out the year in photos, I give you one of my favorite recipes, this frittata with roasted potatoes, green onions and feta. It’s originally from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook, but I don’t always have that cookbook with me when I make it so I’ve adapted it to whatever I have on hand. Sometimes I add fresh spinach or sautéed mushrooms, but most of the time I just keep it simple. I also love a slice of this for dinner with a bowl of brothy soup on the side.

Frittata with Feta & Green Onions

2lb yukon gold potatoes, sliced into 1/4 inch rounds

6 eggs, lightly beaten

About 5 green onions, sliced thin

About a half a block of feta, crumbled

Salt & pepper

1. Heat the oven to 425 degrees. Put the sliced potatoes on a roasting sheet, drizzle with about a tablespoon of olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for 35 minutes.

2. Place the potatoes in a cast iron skillet or some type of oven proof dish, sprinkle with green onions and feta. Pour the egg mixture evenly on top, being sure to get it in all the nooks and crannies. Cover with foil and cook for 20 minutes. Remove foil and cook for another 15 minutes until the eggs are set. Cut into wedges. Serve hot or at room temperature. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “The Year in Photos: 2013”

  1. trialsinfood Says:

    what a great year in photos! and a great way to end the year. happy 2014!

  2. Lindsey Says:

    Beautiful pics! Happy New Year to you.

  3. grwhryrpltd Says:

    and here’s to another tasty year ahead 🙂


Leave a Reply

